![]() |
|
|||
Retried runner meandering...
Quote:
To re-quote the rule (so everyone doesn't have to page back in this thread or dig out the book).. ASA 8-8 THE RUNNER IS OUT. P. When, after being declared out or after scoring, a runner intentionally interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner... Was this runner in the heat of a play, where he deserved the benefit of the doubt (e.g. he can't just disappear)? No. He knew the play was still on-going. He had the choice of many ways to return to his dugout, most of which would have taken him out of the way of the continuing action. His choice of route for returning to the dugout was intentional (i.e. not accidental) and he definitely interfered with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner. I'd rule interference in this case. I am very interested in hearing how others would rule on this play... |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|