The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 01, 2001, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Had this happen in a 12U tournament yesterday (ASA JO).

B1 has 2 strike count. She squares to bunt. Pitch comes way inside -- right at batter's legs. Batter turns and steps back, bringing the bat down and back toward the catcher. Batter is facing away from the infield when the ball hits the bat and goes foul.

I call foul ball, count stays at 2 strikes. Defensive coach wants batter out, but rule 7-6G says When the batter bunts foul after the second strike... and POE 9 says, in considering whether the batter swung to consider Did he make an attempt to hit the pitch?.

I ruled that while she did square to bunt, she was no longer making an attempt to hit the pitch, and she did not hit the ball foul while bunting, but while trying to get out of the way of the errant pitch.

Did I kick it?

(PS - my partner thought I did. He said once she squared to bunt, it was a foul while bunting. We discussed this after the game because he - my partner - told the coach I was wrong before the coach came to talk to me. I was not pleased.)

[Edited by Dakota on Oct 1st, 2001 at 02:02 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1