The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 05:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 75
Wouldn't ASA rule 7 section 4E apply here?
4E says, "a strike is called for each foul ball when the batter has fewer than 2 strikes" which is followed by F (slowpitch) then a note. The Note states : NOTE E-F: if a pitched ball is swung at and missed, then hit on the follow through, it is a strike and a dead ball. The way i read that, if it's a 3rd strike, its still strike 3 dead ball. Batter out.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Yes, it would. However, that is for calling a strike. What happens when you rule the batter out on strikes the the coach protests citing 7.6.K.3 and Effect where it specifically states that this is a foul ball. And we all know, a foul ball is not a strike when the batter already has two.

It seems there is a contradiction.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 13, 2006, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
It took us awhile (must be the off season for a lot of folks)... but we've finally gotten to the dilema on this situation.

Less that 2 strikes, there is no contradiction. But with 2 strikes, there is.

Personally, I'm going with foul ball and letting the protest committee sort it out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 13, 2006, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 75
The original post had a swing an a miss, so i have strike. If it happens to be strike 3, then batter out. 3rd strike occurs before the hit ball, so i've got strike 3, dead ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
An interesting dilema. And here is an odd twist...

I don't have a 2006 book handy, but I do have the 2005 book on CD with me now.

For the 2006 rule, is the above quote from "blue" accurate? Does the "NOTE" associated with 7-4-E really say that a ball hit on the backswing is ruled as "...a strike and a DEAD BALL"?

My 2005 book reads that it is "...a strike and a FOUL BALL".

A subtle editorial change? A misquote from "blue"?

If this is an editorial change, it is one that would have a profound effect on how this rule is enforced. It almost looks like someone caught this inconsistency, slipped the editorial change in the new book, but forgot to make a corresponding change to the conflicting rule (7-6-K-3).

In other words, it looks like somebody already tinkered with this, but they just didn't tinker enough!

Last edited by BretMan; Thu Sep 14, 2006 at 12:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Yes, the 2006 ASA 7-4 NOTE-E-F says "strike and dead ball.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
So, between the 2005 and 2006 book somebody DID make a concious effort to clarify this rule.

Trouble is, they missed one more conflicting rule that would also need modified to totally set thing straight!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 8
Poe 24

Let POE 24 be the tiebreaker... dead ball / foul ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1