![]() |
|
|
|||
What's this?
Batter swings and misses, pitch hits either the catcher or the ground and bounces up. Batter hits the ball on her back-swing. Ball rebounds off the catcher and into the infield. Both teams play this as a hit ball.
What is it really?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Mon Sep 11, 2006 at 09:55am. |
|
|||
I'm assuming when you wrote "backswing" you meant the action of a player who has already swung at a pitch and is now bringing the bat back.
If this is the case, I can't call it a foul ball. It's a swinging strike followed by a bit of unintentional interference by the batter. If it's strike three, the batter is out and the ball is dead. If runners are attempting to steal on the play, you might have a good case for calling interference too. |
|
|||
Quote:
I thought that for interference to be called by retired runner, we need to have an intentional act. ASA 8.7.P NFHS 8.6.18 Also, Irish is correct about the ruling being a foul ball / dead ball. ASA 7.6.K exception #3 NFHS 7.2.3
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
A few random thoughts...
If this play is to be ruled a foul ball, then we obviously have no interference on a potential steal situation because runners can't attempt a steal on a foul ball. One problem I see in ruling this a foul ball instead of a swing and a miss is that the batter may have saved himself/herself from a strikeout by hitting the ball (albeit inadvertently) on the backswing. The pitcher gets cheated out of a strikeout if there were already two strikes on the batter. Maybe we have an illegally batted ball here? The batter has, in effect, swung twice at the pitch. Last edited by John Robertson; Mon Sep 11, 2006 at 09:23am. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't think that is what most of us would rule, but that's what it says.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Maybe it should, but note the rule does recognize the possiblity of there already being 2 strikes on the batter with the reference to 7-6-L.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
Hi John. I found the same situation in the S.C. Casebook. Rule 7 case 66. Their interpretation is to treat this as an unintentional double hit while in the batter's box - i.e strike on the swing or hit, dead ball on the backswing contacting the ball. Like you I can't find anything specific in the rulebook. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|