![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I thought that for interference to be called by retired runner, we need to have an intentional act. ASA 8.7.P NFHS 8.6.18 Also, Irish is correct about the ruling being a foul ball / dead ball. ASA 7.6.K exception #3 NFHS 7.2.3
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
|
A few random thoughts...
If this play is to be ruled a foul ball, then we obviously have no interference on a potential steal situation because runners can't attempt a steal on a foul ball. One problem I see in ruling this a foul ball instead of a swing and a miss is that the batter may have saved himself/herself from a strikeout by hitting the ball (albeit inadvertently) on the backswing. The pitcher gets cheated out of a strikeout if there were already two strikes on the batter. Maybe we have an illegally batted ball here? The batter has, in effect, swung twice at the pitch. Last edited by John Robertson; Mon Sep 11, 2006 at 09:23am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't think that is what most of us would rule, but that's what it says.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Which would still make it a foul ball the second time it hit the catcher.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Wouldn't ASA rule 7 section 4E apply here?
4E says, "a strike is called for each foul ball when the batter has fewer than 2 strikes" which is followed by F (slowpitch) then a note. The Note states : NOTE E-F: if a pitched ball is swung at and missed, then hit on the follow through, it is a strike and a dead ball. The way i read that, if it's a 3rd strike, its still strike 3 dead ball. Batter out. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Maybe it should, but note the rule does recognize the possiblity of there already being 2 strikes on the batter with the reference to 7-6-L.
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|