The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Aug 18, 2006, 08:48am
Official Forum Member

Do you work as grounds crew?

I showed up to a SP Mens league game recently and the teams were standing around and said "aint you gonna chalk the fields blue?"

Uh, no. I dont chalk fields.

"Well the other always umpire chalks it"

I know the umpire, hes a nfhs fed ball umpire who is fairly old.. impressive that he does that.. but I'm not a grounds keeper and thats not my job. I dont care if they chalk them or not, but I'm sure not going to do it.

Do any of you show up to say league games and chalk the field for them?

When I was a home team coach, I did my share of chalking the fields. Its NOT an umpire job. But do any of you do it?
Old Fri Aug 18, 2006, 09:07am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to coachsara Send a message via Yahoo to coachsara
grounds crew

In some of our league games the bases have to be moved. It is supposed to be the job of the concession stand crew to make sure the bases are correct. (there is a schedule for them when bases need to be moved)

However, most of the time my partner and I were the ones stuck moving bases. 8-under to 14-under, and back to 8-unders again...

I hate getting my nails dirty.
Old Fri Aug 18, 2006, 09:07am
Official Forum Member

Many times as a coach, never as an umpire.

Though I have erased a few lines before a game that were improperly drawn!

I can recall only two times that I did any "ground work" before a game I was umpiring. This was in local leagues where everybody pretty much knew everybody else. Heavy rain before each game had the fields looking swampy, and I pitched in with a rake and a bag of diamond-dry to allow the games to be played.

Of course, most of my work was concentrated on the area directly behind home plate!
Old Fri Aug 18, 2006, 09:49am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem