The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
INT Interp

ASA Girls FP
R1 on 3B with 1 out.
B2 has 3-2 count and hits a pop up near the on deck circle.
F5 can catch this fly ball with ordinary effort. (Everyone in the park knows this).
R1 while off the base INT's with F5's play. (No question about the INT).
Ball lands ands settles in foul ground.

Ruling 1:
R1 is out for INT
B2 stays at bat with 3-2 count.

Ruling 2:
R1 is out for INT
B2 is out because the ball could be caught with ordinary effort.

Rule 8.7.L Exception would support Ruling 2
POE 33.A.d supports Ruling 1

How say ye?
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
IMHO you can't get more than one out on the play. R1 is out and a foul on the batter...
__________________
ASA, NFHS, USSSA Baseball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by OklahomaBlue
IMHO you can't get more than one out on the play. R1 is out and a foul on the batter...
Why not, OK? You have a fly ball, and you have a runner off base - surely you could get 2 outs had this ball been caught. This runner interfered with a possible double play.

(Not to mention that it's supported by rule that this SHOULD be 2 outs!)
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo
Rule 8.7.L Exception would support Ruling 2
POE 33.A.d supports Ruling 1
The EXCEPTION you cite is actually an exception to the NOTE Section J-L just above with states that the BR is awarded 1B. In your situation, the exception would be to:

ASA Rule 8-7-J-1 NOTE.

Since the interference was with a routine fly ball over foul territory that could be caught with ordinary effort, the runner is out AND the BR is out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 10:26am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
The EXCEPTION you cite is actually an exception to the NOTE Section J-L just above with states that the BR is awarded 1B. In your situation, the exception would be to:

ASA Rule 8-7-J-1 NOTE.

Since the interference was with a routine fly ball over foul territory that could be caught with ordinary effort, the runner is out AND the BR is out.
Confused now - are we going with the Rule 8.7.J-L Exception because of the inclusion of the word "routine" in the rule and in this situation?

I recall we went over the POE 33.d thing a month or two ago, because I had something similar to this happen.

Now it seems that this section of Rule 8 contradicts with POE 33.d. Or is it attempting to simply further specify? The way the book reads now, I could see a coach having an argument for either ruling in a protest, by using one section or the other.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The difference is the fly ball can be caught (in the umpire's judgment) with ordinary effort.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
There would be almost no evidence that a "double play" could be possible. I call the runner out and keep the batter at 3-2.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu_bawls
There would be almost no evidence that a "double play" could be possible. I call the runner out and keep the batter at 3-2.
Really? The runner is well off the base and close enough to the fielder to be tagged after the ball is caught.

Besides, if you do not rule the BR out, what do you do with the rule cited above? Ignore it?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interp this play flsh224 Volleyball 4 Sat Oct 22, 2005 07:24am
New Interp wrong? Nevadaref Basketball 13 Wed Oct 13, 2004 01:49am
FED Interp, please? JJ Baseball 28 Fri Mar 23, 2001 01:58am
Interp of the Week #3 Jim Porter Baseball 10 Tue Mar 13, 2001 09:08pm
Fed Pitching Interp JJ Baseball 10 Tue Feb 13, 2001 12:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1