The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 29, 2006, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
ASA sp ?

need your help


Coach of team A request "time" says he want to put his F4 in to pitch and move F1 to 2nd. After the new pitcher completes his 3 warm up Coach calls
"time" again and says he want to put the old pitcher back in. Team B wants to protest bacause they say the new pitcher must at least throw 1 pitch to a batter before the coach can put the old pitcher back in.

I was the acting UIC but working another field when this came to me through the TD. I ruled that I knew of no rule stating a pitch had to be thrown in this situation. I was told later by a few other umps that they believed I made the wrong call.

I believe my ruling is backed by rule 4-6-c, BUT just want to make sure I am not missing something

Part 2-- Just checking but I dont believe it would make any difference of it was a FP or SP game ?

Thanks

Don
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 30, 2006, 02:02am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
How is this an illegal sub per 4-6-c? Sounds like just a defensive swap, then another defensive swap. Check out 6(SP)-8.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 30, 2006, 04:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by oppool
need your help...I was told later by a few other umps that they believed I made the wrong call.
Your call was correct.

I believe those who told you the call was wrong were either baseball umpires or little league softball umpires, where the rule is different than ASA.

Also, remember that the returning pitcher within the same inning is not allowed warm-up pitches.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 30, 2006, 11:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,815
If you belive this was a bonafide decision by the coach, it is legal. If you think it is a ploy to kill time in a time limit game, I would warn the coach that such tactics can lead to a forfeit; and read his reaction accordingly.

In ASA and NCAA, no warm up pitches to a returning pitcher; in NFHS, no such exception.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1