Thread: ASA sp ?
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 29, 2006, 10:42pm
oppool oppool is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
ASA sp ?

need your help


Coach of team A request "time" says he want to put his F4 in to pitch and move F1 to 2nd. After the new pitcher completes his 3 warm up Coach calls
"time" again and says he want to put the old pitcher back in. Team B wants to protest bacause they say the new pitcher must at least throw 1 pitch to a batter before the coach can put the old pitcher back in.

I was the acting UIC but working another field when this came to me through the TD. I ruled that I knew of no rule stating a pitch had to be thrown in this situation. I was told later by a few other umps that they believed I made the wrong call.

I believe my ruling is backed by rule 4-6-c, BUT just want to make sure I am not missing something

Part 2-- Just checking but I dont believe it would make any difference of it was a FP or SP game ?

Thanks

Don
Reply With Quote