The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 30, 2006, 04:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by oppool
need your help...I was told later by a few other umps that they believed I made the wrong call.
Your call was correct.

I believe those who told you the call was wrong were either baseball umpires or little league softball umpires, where the rule is different than ASA.

Also, remember that the returning pitcher within the same inning is not allowed warm-up pitches.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 30, 2006, 11:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
If you belive this was a bonafide decision by the coach, it is legal. If you think it is a ploy to kill time in a time limit game, I would warn the coach that such tactics can lead to a forfeit; and read his reaction accordingly.

In ASA and NCAA, no warm up pitches to a returning pitcher; in NFHS, no such exception.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1