![]() |
|
|
|||
A fun one I had not seen before...
Last night - 14U ASA
BR hits a dribbler down the 1B line that will surely go foul. She just stands in the box. F2 heads for the ball. F1 heads for the ball. The coaches start yelling, "RUN! RUN!", so the BR starts to run. The ball stays fair and is just inside the foul line. F2 stops on the line and allows F1 to field the ball. BR has to run around F2 (on the foul side) where F1 is waiting. > BR was tagged by F1. > BR committed a "base runner error" for just standing in the box. > BR had no chance of making 1B... ... except for the obstruction on F2. Coaches: "Oh, I can't believe you called that." "There's no way that's the rule." "What kind of stuff are you trying to pull." Confession - I did not call the obstruction right away. After it all happened, I started to turn around back to my PU position and then realized what I had just seen. I guess it was a bit unusually because F2 rarely gets ahead of BR on the base path.
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
Quote:
Not available, but pretty sure there is a case play which would support this ruling. The CB play, I believed involved a runner OBS when forced off 2B, but would never had reached third regardless of the OBS.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sat Jul 22, 2006 at 06:01am. |
|
|||
Quote:
On the OP, why wasn't the runner in the running lane? If she's in fair ball territory and then moves to foul ball territory and gets tagged - I'm good with that. From what I've read, I have an out.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter NFHS, NCAA, NAIA The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
Quote:
I am not aware of any rule that excludes OBS between home and 1B. Therefore return BR to bat as there is nothing else to do at home plate. In OBS, the basepath is chosen by the runner. I do not see how the 3 foot lane would have any bearing on the ruling - unless BR INT.
__________________
Tony Last edited by tcannizzo; Sun Jul 23, 2006 at 06:53am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
I see that as identical to our OP. You have to call obstruction. As the batter has ended her time at bat and is now a B-R when obstruction occured, I don't see sending her back to bat again. As dumb as it may look, I think that you have to send the B-R to 1B. WMB |
|
|||
[QUOTE=SC Ump]Last night - 14U ASA
The ball stays fair and is just inside the foul line. F2 stops on the line and allows F1 to field the ball. BR has to run around F2 (on the foul side) where F1 is waiting. QUOTE] I can't see OBS due to this statement. It appears that F1 and F2 were both legally in the act of fielding a batted ball. F2 ceded the play to F1 (or was just beat out), but she can't then just vanish. The act of fielding the batted ball is one of the exceptions to OBS. Of course only one player can eventually field the ball, but two players can be in the act of fielding at the same time. Having "seen" the play from this information, I have an out. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Dan Last edited by SC Ump; Mon Jul 24, 2006 at 06:03pm. |
|
|||
![]()
All other fielders would not be in the act of fielding the ball and thus could not obstruct.
Huh? Are you saying that any fielder not fielding the ball is safe from obstruction? So if a BR were rounding 1b with a ball in the outfiled, F3 can get in the way of the BR and not be giulty of obstruction because F3 was not in the act of fielding a ball? I admit, I am not a umpire, bur this seems to be a definite error. |
|
|||
Quote:
But "All other fielders would not be in the act of fielding the ball and thus could not obstruct" might be a typo.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Irish, I think you need to produce this caseplay, as it flies in the face of all other interpretations of OBS I've ever seen. I can't find it myself, and only find the one referenced above that directs us to call OBS and award 3rd base.
We have never been told to judge whether the runner would have reached the base after the base where the obstruction occurs. By rule, OBS should be called on F2 (she is not protected due to fielding a batted ball immediately after she decides not to field the batted ball, and in any case, this exemption from OBS can only be applied to one fielder - F1 in this case). BR goes to 1st. As to the "she would never have made it to first" contingent, how do you know. Absent the OBS, perhaps F1 is unable to tag and has to throw it - and you never know what will happen on a throw. And Tom - where in the world are you getting the idea that sending the BR back to the plate is a viable option in ANY scenario. There is no OBS award that allows you to do this, and I've never even heard of someone trying to apply such a ruling. Guys, this is simple cut-and-dried obstruction - BR to first, all others advance a base.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|