The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 24, 2006, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
...
And Tom - where in the world are you getting the idea that sending the BR back to the plate is a viable option in ANY scenario. There is no OBS award that allows you to do this, and I've never even heard of someone trying to apply such a ruling.

...
Who is Tom? The only "Tom" I see agrees.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 24, 2006, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Irish, I think you need to produce this caseplay, as it flies in the face of all other interpretations of OBS I've ever seen. I can't find it myself, and only find the one referenced above that directs us to call OBS and award 3rd base.
I agree and maybe I've got it backwards. I thought we had discussed this before on a play where something goofy happened a few steps off 2B on an all too obvious out on the force at 3B.

I've got to look around and see what I'm thinking of here.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 24, 2006, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump
...BR has to run around F2...
This statement in the OP tells me the basepath of the BR was impeded by F2. Since F2 didn't field the ball, F2 does not receive the protection that a fielder in the act of fielding receives, so F2 is guilty of obstruction. Since I don't know of any rule that allows me to bring the BR back to bat after being obstructed, I am going to award the BR first base.

Let's change the OP just a little. Bunted ball up the first base line, F1 comes over to attempt to field the ball, but is late and the ball rolls to F3 who is standing closer to the base than the BR who had to run around F1 after F1 didn't field the ball because F1 was standing in the basepath of the BR. I still have obstruction and award the BR first base and bump all forced runners.

I agree with Mike Crowder. Text book obstruction.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1