The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 55
If there was no appeal at 1B then act that he commited was prior to him touching the plate. He would be out and ejected due to USC. Three runs would score.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
My guess is greymule is poking at the issue of 4th out appeal only on a runner who has scored.

In the situation, once the play is complete, the umpire will most likely eject the BR. The umpire can also declare the BR out and nullify the run scored by the BR (ASA case play 10.8-1) for flagrant misconduct.

So, suppose the umpire does this. Now, the BR has no longer scored. Hence, the 4th out appeal may not be honored by rule.

I'd honor it anyway under the circumstances. I'd use 10-1-L to reverse the OUT call on the BR (but not the ejection), and then enforce the 4th out appeal. No runs score.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 110
My take on this one is this: The defense should not be penalized for an act of the offending offfensive player. The spirit of the rule is to allow the defense to appeal the missed base thereby nullifying the runs.

The player is ejected when the play is over and not before. If you called the out and then ejected him - then he doesnt score and its 3 runs saved on the appeal. I wouldnt even play a game of semantics on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I'd use 10-1-L to reverse the OUT call on the BR.

Clever way out. I'd have to revise the OP to say that after creaming F2, BR never does touch the plate but gives F2 a couple of kicks in the ribs before proceeding to the dugout. Then the appeal at 1B.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
I'd use 10-1-L to reverse the OUT call on the BR.

Clever way out. I'd have to revise the OP to say that after creaming F2, BR never does touch the plate but gives F2 a couple of kicks in the ribs before proceeding to the dugout. Then the appeal at 1B.
He doesn't have to go to all that trouble. If he merely abandones his attempt to advance and proceeds directly to the dugout, he's out and never scored.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1