![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The other Q is applies to mc's example of "If BOO, subsequently legitimized, causes a player already on base to be the proper batter, said batter is skipped. In this case, if B9 batted and was not appealed for BOO, the next batter is B1 (F1 in this case) - who TECHNICALLY is still on base, thus making B2 the proper batter (still on base too, you say? Then B3). Isn't, then, F1 not just BOO, but an illegal substitute for B2?"
If there was a CR, and the BOO of B9 was not appealed, does the CR being on base count as B1 still on base (also B2), so is B3 the correct batter? If that is true and B1 bats again after B9, given that B3 is the "correct batter" is it now BOO or nothing?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Upon further review...
B1 can never be an illegal sub for batting while her CR is still on base. The reason is, she never left the game, so she is not a sub of any kind, legal or illegal. The argument that the legal batter due up is B3 after the first pitch to B1 seems to me to be valid. However, to enforce this requires an appeal of BOO by the defense before a pitch is thrown to B3 (who, persumably will now come up to bat). Lacking an appeal, I think we still have nothing, and the CR should be allowed, assuming the CR is otherwise legal to be a CR for the pitcher.
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Courtesy Runner | rocker45 | Softball | 14 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:03am |
| Courtesy Runner | U_of_I_Blue | Softball | 11 | Sat Jun 25, 2005 10:01pm |
| Courtesy Runner | Gemini | Baseball | 2 | Tue Mar 23, 2004 11:44pm |
| Courtesy Runner | Dukat | Softball | 6 | Mon Nov 17, 2003 05:22pm |
| Courtesy Runner | pollywolly60 | Softball | 3 | Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:47am |