The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 06:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder
ASA 8-5-F-5 In regards to the OP. This is an illegal act by the catcher so it appears that the batter will be awarded first for this act. If I ever see this happen it will be a first.
The batter is awarded first base even in the situation where the batter does not become a batter-runner? On a D3K the batter becomes a batter-runner only with first base open and less than 2 outs or anytime with 2 outs. If the ball is retrieved by the catcher with detached equipment when the batter can not legally advance to 1b on a D3K, I don't believe we grant the batter 1B.

I don't believe that is ASA's intention here.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Equipment Eric 26 Baseball 22 Wed Sep 28, 2005 09:47am
Detached Equip - Ball foul BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Feb 25, 2003 10:40am
Equipment Bill Baker Softball 2 Tue Jan 07, 2003 01:07pm
Detached base Alan G Baseball 2 Sun Apr 28, 2002 08:00am
Detached Equiptment dan_renninger Baseball 4 Sun Mar 17, 2002 11:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1