The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 14, 2006, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I'm not an NCAA umpire, but I will say with certainty that bat hitting a ball a second time is ruled the same for ASA, FED, NCAA, etc.

Perhaps the umpire judged that the ball hit the legally discarded bat, instead of the bat hitting the ball. Maybe he flat-out didn't see any contact at all. Maybe he blew this call.

Hard to say what another person saw and judged.

As for the announcer, never trust a "talking head" to give a proper rule interpretation.

The announcer was dead wrong. The hands are, of course, part of the batter and not part of the bat.

Between Harold Reynolds and the announcers for softball employed by ESPN, I hear this comment at least a half-dozen times a year. And it's wrong everytime!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am curious rotationslim Basketball 9 Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:17pm
I'm curious eventnyc Basketball 23 Thu Feb 24, 2005 02:46pm
OOB Whistle...just curious nine01c Basketball 21 Mon Dec 29, 2003 05:20pm
I'm curious----------- SWFLguy Football 1 Mon Oct 21, 2002 09:21pm
curious kman Baseball 5 Mon Jun 10, 2002 02:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1