The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2006, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
So far as I know, there is no direct rules basis to protect a runner beyond the awarded and/or protected base as a result of the obstruction. And, that's what we have here; she passed her protected base (third). In NCAA, there is absolutely not a 2nd obstruction, because they still use the theory of a wreck whenever the defense is "doing her job". But, even if there were, it still occurred before third, and doesn't extend her protection.

What I suspect could hold water is using the universal "meet in spirit of sportsmanship" and "shall not impose a penalty which rewards the offending team" rule in every rule set. It is unreasonable to allow F6 to obstruct without truly protecting the offense against what we judge to be the result of the obstruction.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1