Mike,
I'm picturing 2 separate "obstructions" on Andy's play. On the first, I have obstruction under everybody's rules and R1 is protected to 3rd. The second is when F6 jumps for the ball and R1 slides awkwardly. With this second, I'm picturing that ball & runner are about the same distance from the fielder - but the ball travels much faster, so I probably have "about to receive". College rules, with "about to receive", and that means no second obstruction.
Andy's ruling occurred to me when I first read the play. I'd have had to see that to be able to rule that way. 'Cuz I'm not at all sure that it would hold up to a protest with R1 going beyond 3B.
__________________
Steve M
|