The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 15, 2006, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
If the umpire was calling the BR out due to rule 12:3:k, the runner retreating toward home to avoid or delay a tag, then the ball should have been dead immediately, and the rummers returned to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. So...if that was the ruling of the umpires, then the eventual return of R1 to second was the correct ruling.

Now, to answer your question about the play itself, it is possible that the umpires ruled this an attempt to avoid or delay a tag, but the rule clearly states "steps back." Not having been there, and going solely on the information you provide, I probably would not have had the out unless something else occurred, such as a step back or the actual tag itself. However, this is a judgement call on the part of the umpire, so.....
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1