View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 15, 2006, 09:59am
Skahtboi Skahtboi is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
If the umpire was calling the BR out due to rule 12:3:k, the runner retreating toward home to avoid or delay a tag, then the ball should have been dead immediately, and the rummers returned to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. So...if that was the ruling of the umpires, then the eventual return of R1 to second was the correct ruling.

Now, to answer your question about the play itself, it is possible that the umpires ruled this an attempt to avoid or delay a tag, but the rule clearly states "steps back." Not having been there, and going solely on the information you provide, I probably would not have had the out unless something else occurred, such as a step back or the actual tag itself. However, this is a judgement call on the part of the umpire, so.....
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote