The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 02, 2006, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
NCAA Rule 1-22.b states that "A fielder who falls over or through a fence AFTER making a catch shall be credited with the catch.

Rule 2-10.b adds that a catch shall NOT be credited if "(2) The fielder is standing on the fence as it is lying on the ground when she contacts the ball."

Okay, so while still not crystal clear, I conclude that if it is a catch only if made before falling over or through the fence, it is NOT a catch if it is made after running through the fence. And, that the fence down does NOT expand the playing field (another rules difference from ASA). My reading is that she must have contact with the ball before collapsing the fence; which did not happen, as best I can tell from the pics.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1