The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2001, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally posted by Gus44
Steve M,

I still have an out. The key to this play is that the runner has already touched second base. Once he has done that, second base is the ONLY base that he "has the right to". The "EFFECT" from Rule 8, Section 3-B, states that "The ball is in play, and the runners may advance or RETURN with liability to be put out". The "return" part is what I think comes into play here.

Just my opinion,
Gus

Gus,
I understand that, but, when the runner returned, did he touch 2B on the way back? I read it that way in this play (as the runner touces 2B and then brain farts & decides to head back to 1B). Effectively, this touching 2B while going back to 1B (same as runners must do when a fly has been caught & they advanced more than a base), means that he's now given up the rights to 2B. Don't forget that your force is removed since batter-runner was put out at 1B.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1