The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 14, 2005, 03:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by NDblue
In the Sox/Angels game that this thread is referenced to, the HP was wrong in not calling "batter out". He signaled strike and then threw a hammer indicating the batter was out. The ball did not hit the dirt and if he had any feeling that it did, he should have asked for help from 1BU or 3BU because they had a better angle on the pitch. The catcher knew he caught the ball without it touching the ground after it touched his glove. If I remember my baseball rules correctly, it doesn't matter if the ball touched the ground prior to touching the catcher. This rule only applies if it hits any part of the catcher and "then" hits the ground. If it hits the ground and then into the catchers mitt, same thing as if he caught it to begin with. In this instance, it didn't matter since the ball never touched the ground until the catcher tossed the ball back to the mound.
From MLB rules:

6.05
A batter is out when_ (a) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder; (b) A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1