The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2005, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Live Free or Die Country
Posts: 175
Send a message via Yahoo to CelticNHBlue
1 - Yes, always...

2 - There is no such thing as a 'correctable' play when the ball becomes dead by legitimate means (ie, the umpire did not kill the play when it was not called for). This is an appealable offense and, as an umpire, I am only hoping the defense is paying attention. I don't like to miss the opportunity to call outs.


Generally speaking, with few exceptions, a runner is always required to return and touch any/all bases if they left early (as in your situation) prior to advancing to the awarded base and they must be touched in legal order (ie. can't go straight from first to third on a two base award). It should be treated as a live ball situation with the exception that the runner can not be put out because the ball is dead. Any deviation is appealable and will result in the offending runner being called out if properly appealed.
__________________
Wade Ireland
Softball Umpire
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1