The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 04, 2005, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 92
It took me a minute, but now I see what mc is saying, and I agree. There is a statement in the rule book (not sure if it is ASA, NFHS or both books) that a runner that has passed a base is assumed to have touched that base. In the situation that we are talking about, only if a proper appeal is made for missing the base, should the runner be called out. Using that statement (forgive me for not having page number available, but maybe SRW can look it up) you act as if the runner touched the white portion, and if tagged while only touching the safety base (which is now only dirt), the runner would be called out on the appeal (fielder tagging the runner). Essentially, the runner is not called out for failing to tag up, but rather for being off the base and getting tagged.
__________________
Troy
ASA/NFHS
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1