The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2005, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 156
ah...

Dave-

I don't have rulebook in front of me so I'm flying by the seat of my pants. But I'm with mc here, unless as you point out the BR does something intentional to interfere (i.e. intentionally kick the ball, blatantly push fielder, swipe at the glove with his hand ala derrick jeter in the ALCS last year). Now, I may be thinking baseball accepted interp here but isn't it the fielder is protected as long as the ball is within a step and a reach. In your stitch, it seems that the ball is further away than that so they're initial play on the ball is over. Now you have a fielder who blocks the basepath AND impedes the runner's progess without possession of the ball which is the def. for OBS. My view is all dependant on the "step and a reach" interpretation being correct". Just my thoughts.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1