The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
MLB still awards from TOP when the first play by an infielder goes into DBT, unless at the time of the throw all runners, including the BR, had advanced at least one base.

In my experience, differentiating between TOP and TOT in baseball and FP softball often makes a difference. A runner stealing 2B may well have reached 2B by the time F6 fields a grounder and throws wild to 1B. In baseball, though the runner had reached 2B at the time of the throw, he is awarded 3B only. In softball, with no "first play" clause, the award would be home.

I've seen a similar play occur in SP, but rarely (usually when the BR hits a grounder and doesn't run hard, not uncommon in slugger leagues). In the play that started this thread, if F1 still had a play at 3B, it is unlikely that the runner from 1B had reached 2B at TOT.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1