The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2005, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 204
ASA SP 12" Men
R1 on 2nd
R2 on 1st
Batter hits slow roller between Home and 3rd - F1 fields ball and overthrows 3rd - The ball bounces off F5 and ends up going out of play about 50 feet away (F1 really threw it hard for such a short throw)- This field only has fences that extend about 20 feet beyond the bases, anything outside the fence is out of play
I am only ump
I award R1 and R2 home and BR 3rd
Defense Captain comes to me and asks if I saw R2 touch 2nd before the throw, which of course I could not since I was watching the play. The rule is 2 bases from the last base touched at the time of the throw. So I put R2 back on 3rd and BR on 2nd.

Of course, now offensive captain goes wild. I explain call and it quiets. Next batter gets hit that scores both R2 and previous BR, so point is moot.

1) Did I get the call right in the end?
2) Should I have just left the call the way I had it, even if I wasn't sure it was right?
__________________
Travis
ASA Umpire
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1