![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Batter interference on dropped 3rd strike revisited
I dredged up this old thread for guidance on a play this past weekend.
Dropped 3rd strike, ball rolls between right hand batters feet while still in box. While the catcher is reaching for the ball, batter unintentionally kicks the ball. Ball did not travel far and the catcher was able to retrieve the ball and throw out the batter. I asked the young PU (who was being trained by the old BU) to visit with me about that play in between innings. I asked the PU would he have called interference if the batter had accidently kicked the ball in such a way that the catcher who was reaching for the ball could not have made a play? PU did not even see the kick but BU explained that since the kick was unintentional, he's got no interference. I then asked well what about a D3K that traveled a few feet up the first baseline and is in fair territory and is again unintentionally kicked by the batter while the catcher was going to make a play. Again, old BU says play on Reviewing my 2008 ASA Rule book, I don't know if Mike got the change he was going to request. Here is the wording of Rule 8, Sec 2, F.6. ---------------------- Batter runner is out when the batter-runner interfers with (fast pitch) a dropped third strike. ------------------ It appears this is an out even though the defense screwed this up. (On the other hand, the offense did just strike out.) Is the old BU right? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What difference do you see between this and a batted ball which the BR does not see?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But, whatever, I'm having a hard time visualizing a batted ball that the BR cannot see before kicking it.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
But, whatever, I'm having a hard time visualizing a batted ball that the BR cannot see before kicking it.
-------------------------------------------- Unpadded brick backstop at new fields in Seguin Tx. The ricochets were unreal |
|
|||
|
That would be a foul ball, wouldn't it?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
But, that's not a batted ball....
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
From the March 2007 Rule Clarifications and Plays on the ASA Website, there was a section on "Tips for Judging Interference".
The first paragraph reads: "In an effort to help umpires become more uniform in judging interference throughout the country, the ASA has addressed several rules relating to interference that contained the word "intentional". Specifically, the work "intentional" has been removed from Rule 7, Section 7 Q; Rule 8, Section 2 F [3]; Rule 8, Section 7 3 [3]; and, Rule 8, Section 7 P. Umpires now need only to base their decision on whether interference occurred or did not occur, and not the intentions of the offensive player. Moreover, removing the word "intentional" from these sections aligns these rules with the definition of INTERFERENCE in Rule 1. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
SITUATION 1: With no outs and R1 on 2B, B2 swings at and misses the pitch. R1 breaks for 3B and while F2 is throwing to 3B in an attempt to retire R1, B2, while remaining in the batter’s box, backs up to readjust their footing and bumps into F2 causing an errant throw. RULING: B2 is guilty of interference. The ball is dead, B2 is out and R1 must return to 2B. (Rule 7, Section 6 Q) Please note that the batter actually did something to interfere. If that batter just stood there, it is nothing. The argument for removing "intentional" from some of the rules was that the umpire had to judge the offensive player's actions as to whether it was interference or not. IOW, the player must do something that caused the INT. |
|
|||
|
Correct ruling and a ruling I agree with.
I cant think of any reason I would want a clarification/change added to the rules that would make this BR safe at 1B. In fact, the exact opposite. This should be a RS addition to unintentional/but doing something - for an out.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|