The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 01, 2005, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy
Not to hijack the post...but what if the pitcher had the ball in the circle when the BR left first base? Would the DDB from the obstruction be considered over since the play has ended? Is the BR now subject ot being called out on the lookback rule?
Andy, I don't know that there is a definitive answer to that one; it isn't really covered in rule book or case book.

We do know that certain baserunning violations are still enforced on obstructed runners; missed bases, bases left early, and interference are still enforced. In my opinion (and it is nothing more than that, in this case), consistency would make it appropriate to enforce the lookback rule violation, too. The obstruction certainly didn't create the LBR violation; poor coaching did.

In lower level and rec ball, I may decide I called a dead ball to make the base award. In tournament play, I call the LBR out.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1