The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 29, 2005, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 72
Question

In a girls 12U fastpitch game I was at tonight, a coach instructed his pitcher to call time-out after every passed ball/wild pitch. He told her to call for time-out as soon as she received the ball from the catcher - while pitcher was still in area of home-plate, before she returned to the circle. He was, of course, trying to prevent the runner on 3rd from stealing home while the pitcher walked back to circle. My question is: isn't the ball still in play until the pitcher has it in the circle? I don't know why the umpire allowed this...except that the "know-it-all coach" had a REALLY big mouth. (He convinced the umpire that a pitched ball that hit a batter was just "dead", and the batter couldn't be awarded first base because it hit the ground first - sounds like a slow pitch guy???) Anyway, his team didn't win, but what a marathon! 27-20 in 2hrs/40min.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1