![]() |
|
|||
|
Just to add to the discussion ...
Under ASA, let's say the offense screws up and uses a CR for the pitcher when this same runner CR'd for the catcher in a previous inning. If the umpire recognizes it, he should immediately prohibit the substitution - correct? What if the umpire does NOT notice? This makes the runner an illegal substitute - correct? But yet, the only thing that is "illegal" about the substitution is that she is a CR. In any other respect, the player COULD substitute for the catcher, just not as a CR. Let's say the coach announces, "#15 is running for my catcher!" The umpire needs to have him make it clear whether this is a COURTESY runner or a PINCH runner. The player can't be a CR but she can be a substitute. This could become a real can of worms. David Emerling Memphis, TN |
| Bookmarks |
|
|