The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 20, 2005, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
ASA. What if the infield fly rule isn't invoked when it should be?

Abel on 2B, Baker on 1B, no outs. Charles hits a popup directly above F1, who says, "I got it." However, the umpires fail to call "infield fly."

Does the erroneous non-call mean that the IFR is not in effect, or would the umpires be able to "correct" the following plays with a "retroactive" IFR call?
ASA makes it clear that, even though the IF should be called when the ball is at its apex, if it is not called, this does not mean the IFR is not in effect, and that the rule may be applied retroactively if the failure to call the IFR placed the runners in jeopardy. See Case Play 8-2-35. It is also my view, although there is no specific case play for this situation, that even if all runners advance safely and the BR reaches first on an undeclared IF, the BR may be declared OUT retroactively.

However, this is not in the "spirit" of the rule, since the rule is to protect the offense, and if all runners advanced safely, they did not need the protection, hence calling the BR out after the play is over is benefiting the defense, not protecting the offense. Just an editorial, take if for what it is worth.
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
A. F1 misses the pop, retrieves the ball, and throws to F5 for the force on Abel.
Able placed in jeopardy. Rule BR out. Return runners.

Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
B. F1 misses the ball but retrieves it and throws to F3 to get Charles. Abel and Baker advance.
No runners placed in jeopardy. However, the non-call may have placed the defense in jeopardy by having them make the play on BR instead of holding the runners. The "right" thing to do is probably rule IF in effect and return the runners.

Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
C. F1 misses the ball, can't retrieve it in time, and everyone is safe.
No one in jeopardy. I'd let the non call stand.

Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
D. F1 misses the ball but throws to F5 to put Abel out, and F5 throws to 2B to get Baker.
Runners placed in jeopardy. Rule IF in effect, BR out, runners return.

Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
E. F1 lets the ball drop and then throws to 3B but throws the ball away. Abel scores, Baker to 3B, Charles to 2B.
Defense trying to be too clever. Let it stand.

Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
F. Not hearing the IFR called, Abel and Baker go halfway. F1 catches the ball and throws to 2B to get Abel for having left before the catch.
This one is a bit tougher. Was the IF not called or did the players not hear it? I'm assuming not called. The runners probably took a longer lead than they might have since they knew they would have to beat a force if not caught. This would have to be an on-the-field judgment, however, since the IF does not change the tag-up responsibilities of runners on a caught fly. IF you judge the runners were reacting to the possible force, THEN you may rule the non-call placed them in jeopardy. However, the benefit of the doubt would fall to the defense, IMO.

[Edited by Dakota on Jun 20th, 2005 at 11:09 AM]
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1