|
|||
PU in NCAA Championship Series again kept the batter in the box due to not attempting to avoid the pitch. Sue Enquist was not a happy camper and hustled to the plate to let the umpire know that. What was even better was that the replay showed the batter actually bent her knee into the pitch.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Great call and good coverage by camera crew. Showed she moving her right leg into
the pitch. Yes, Rachel, she did have a good zone.
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
Agreed
Gotta get out of the way. She just stood there, barely moving her back knee - but moved it into the pitch.
And yes, her zone was good. Good corners, good low ball, not too high on the top end. Good game. Can't wait until tomorrow's finale!
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
HBP
Ya know I saw this Last week once I wasn't sure what game it was but I'll be damned the batter leaned into the pitch.
The NCAA blues didn't award the base due to not avoiding the pitch. I did a 12U Tourney this last weekend and sure enough I had the same girl in my last game do the same thing twice. Coach was hopping mad on the second pitch but the batter just stood there bent her knees and took one of those floater change ups (almost looks like a flat slow pitch ball) right off the thigh. Batter both times started to trot to first but I called her back and told her she at least has to make an attempt to get out the way. The coach acually had the nerve to tell me that the batter does not have to attempt get out of the way, and wanted to get the rule book out. I got the game underway and the UIC came down with the ASA rule book while we were underway and read the rule directly to the coach standing the the dougout. |
|
|||
The UIC shouldn't HAVE to bring down a rule book... He damned well better back up his staff with whatever decision was made. If the coach wants to talk rules and read books, then the UIC can do that after the game... not during.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
After I got the game underway again. The Coach went to the Tourny Director, and they both went to the UIC.
If I had been doing this for very long I might have been more upset with this, but this year is my first at fast pitch. I do believe the only reason the UIC came down was this coach was an Jack@#$, and wanted to rub the book in his face. This coach had not only been a pain in the rear for me but he was annoying to every blue that called his games. |
|
|||
Don't start hopping too fast
If you are going to get hopping mad about a UIC bringing down a rule book during your game, don't go to an ASA National.
I have been to 4 different Nationals in the last three years where this happened. Of course all three times the UIC was backing the umpires on the field. It may happen more than I know, but in that case I have no problem. If it were to happen in relation to a protest, again I have no problem with it. I know my rules, occassionally I have brain flatulence, but I have never had a protest turn out against me. (but......I have made a mistake and no one protested, phew!) Don't take yourself too seriously guys, you will burn out. I don't care if a coach pulls out a rule book to talk to me (nicely of course) If I don't want to talk, I ignore them. If they want to try and show me up, the parking lot is just a short walk away. Be able to be approached but don't be a doormat.
__________________
ISF ASA/USA Elite NIF |
|
|||
I think the "rub" is that neither the TD nor the UIC can override the umpire. Even if the umpire was wrong, it is up to the umpire to change the call if so inclined. Opening the book after a decision has been rendered is risky business.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Documentation is a good thing.
Scenario 1. UIC, who is backing me up, uses the printed rule book as a tool/reference to support his case, and to convince a coach who won't believe anything less. But now he is quiet, and even goes away saying "Those guys actually got it right!"
Scenario 2. Noisy coach isn't convinced, doesn't learn, puts doubts in everyone else's mind the rest of the day, and goes away saying "All those blues got it wrong!". Those who hear it but didn't see it don't have any reason to know he's wrong. Yes, the coach should know better, but I vote for scenario 1 AND a successful teaching opportunity.
__________________
Panda Bear |
Bookmarks |
|
|