The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 02, 2005, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Maeder
Look at ASA 7-6-P Says batter is okay in the box as long as it isn't intentional but can't hinder the catcher from catching or throwing the ball by stepping out of the batters box. Seems like coach could have been right. Judgement by the umpire though. If the batter stays in the box the catcher can work around them. If they move out of the box the catcher will have a hard time moving around them. Better check again Steve.

[Edited by Ed Maeder on Jun 2nd, 2005 at 03:31 PM]
Ed,

Did you note this in the original scenario?
Quote:
Originally posted by DaveASA/FED
Coach didn't like it saying they had to leave the box...
Sounds like the coach was complaining that the batter had to clear out - "leave the box" - so I take that to mean the batter remained in the box. But it is a bit of an assumption since the post wasn't definite on that.

If the batter remained in the box and did nothing otherwise to show intent to interfere, then the call was right. Right?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1