The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2005, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 29
R1 at first, one out. Batter hits a pop-up to second, a little behind the baseline (about a foot or two) and halfway between first and second. For whatever reason, the runner has already taken three or four steps towards second when the second baseman muffs the catch, bounces off his chest and rolls towards the infield. Seeing this, the runner takes off and collides with the second baseman who then gathers up the ball and throws the advancing runner out by a step.

I know the fielder has a right to field a batted ball, but I don't believe the defense should be rewarded for the defense blowing a play. At the time I ruled obstruction, safe at second. The more I think on it, the more I wonder if that was the best call to make. I already give you the HTBT, and in my judgement, the advancing runner did not interfere in any way with the attempted catch. What would you have done given this situation, if anything?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2005, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
How far away did the ball roll? Step and a reach is still INT. Farther is OBS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1