The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2005, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
He used the right rule, but the wrong sentence from the rule. The rule is NFHS 4-1-4. The topic is "ball rotation." Here is the rule. I've bolded the parts that you are asking about.
Quote:
The pitcher has a choice of balls at the start of each half-inning, unless both balls do not get put into play in the first half of the first inning. In that case, the pitcher in the bottom of the first inning must throw the unused ball. Thereafter, the ball in play should be returned to the 16-foot circle after every third out. The pitcher taking the field now has a ball to start the next half-inning. The pitcher may request the other ball before throwing a warm-up pitch by giving the ball in her possession to the plate umpire. The pitcher now has made a choice and must pitch that ball until such time as ti goes out of play or becomes blocked.
Basically, once she starts her warm-up pitches, she may not request another ball "just because." The ball would need to be in unplayable condition (wet, damaged). Otherwise, she must continue to use it.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1