![]() |
|
||||
I don't have the rule book with me, but....
Quote:
I had an error in my previous post in describing scenario number 2. I should have said that she overruns first and then turns to the left and heads for 2nd. She then stops. The rule book says she is committed to 2nd. Now, with those corrections in mind, if she returns to 1st, do we call her out on LBR or wait until the defense tags her out? Assuming the defense has to tag her out, if they fail to do so before the next legal/illegal pitch, is the runner then safe? Can she be tagged out while on 1st since she was committed to 2nd? Also, do these rules regarding overruning 1st base only apply when the pitcher has the ball in the circle? I assume so since it is under the LBR. However, it seems that this would not occur very often since the pitcher would seldom have the ball in her possession within the circle before the runner has made it to 1st. The defense would have to get the ball to the pitcher very quickly. Not saying it's impossible. Also, does it matter which happens first, the overrunning of first or the pitcher having possession of the ball in the circle? In otherwords, suppose the batter-runner overruns 1st and turns to the left. Suppose she heads directly for 2nd then stops. What if this all happens before the pitcher has the ball in the circle? Does the rule apply. Sorry for so many detail questions on this. I'm just trying to understand it in all its variations. Thanks! Randall [Edited by rwest on May 16th, 2005 at 01:44 PM]
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|