The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 09:36am
Ref Ump Welsch

This is intended for those who have mentored new umpires. I'm currently mentoring a rookie umpire, who has very little background in slow-pitch softball (played it for a couple of years), but has played plenty of baseball. The softball league here scheduled us to work together several nights during the first part of the season. We've already worked 3 nights of league play. I've been doing this for 11 years, already working the Open League (the top league in town), and worked some regional and national level tournaments.

Anyway, to the point. Question(s) I have are: How do you monitor your partner (the one you're mentoring) and still work your game? I try to keep a little bit of an eye on this new umpire so if I notice something that needs work, or can be improved on more, I can give that feedback. I guess what I'm trying to ask is....how far do you stretch it during the game as not to let it affect your work? Working with this guy has become a "pain" and did affect my work last night. Any input/advice, etc. welcome. I won't be offended by anything, as I'm going a little nuts over this situation.
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 10:22am
Official Forum Member

Rachel,
In addition to working with folks I'm mentoring, I will go watch their games or even join in & make it a 3-man crew - and ask that they come watch me.

I've asked every one of them to keep a "diary" and we'll go over anything strange or not quite understood. Most of the actual mentoring goes on after the games - over a few cold drinks.
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 10:28am
Official Forum Member

Is this new umpire eventually going to be doing games as a single umpire or do you usually have a two person crew?