The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 09, 2005, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally posted by bluezebra
In order to be a bunt ATTEMPT, the batter has to OFFER at the pitch. The holding of the bat, and not moving it, is NOT considered OFFERING.

If the bat was held still, and the pitch was out of the strike zone, would you call the pitch a strike? No? Then why say it's an attempt if there was no movement of the bat, and the pitch hit the bat.

Bob
The ASA POE #9 provides a bit more editorial intent; it states "On a bunt attempt where the batter puts the bat across the plate, unless the batter moves the bat toward the ball, a strike would not be called if the ball is out of the strike zone." This jives more with the training I am sure I heard and what I believed to be the intent of the rule. It seems to me that putting the bat in the one place where it can hit the ball HAS TO BE AN ATTEMPT! We are splitting nits if we look solely at no further movement; no movement is needed if the batter put the bat in the right place to begin with! This ruling is for when the ball is somewhere else, and the batter doesn't follow it, it isn't an attempt. When the ball is right there, it is obviously (at least to me) an attempt.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1