The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 06:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
I see this as getting down to whose call was it. A 3-foot lane violation is the PU's call. The remainder of the play at first is the BU's call.

Some organizations state, and many umpire's feel, that with the 3-foot lane the ball must be thrown from the home plate area or the catcher. Fed does not state this.

However, I still do not believe this was a violation of the 3-foot lane. Being out of the three foot lane is required on the last step, since the bag is in fair territory. Also, in my understanding of your description, the contact was made prior to the ball getting there.

Now, as to the question of whether the runner intentionally bowled F3 over, or malaciously contacted her, that is a different question. I believe that if the BU had asked your opinion on either of these questions, that you should have given it.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1