The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 284
This scenario happened in my game yesterday..
BR hits a dribbler to F5.. F5 throws to F3 for a close call at 1B... F3 is straddling the white bag with one of her feet on the orange bag too..
F3 has the ball before the BR gets there, but the BR collides with F3. BU calls the out, but base coach wants an obstruction call for being on both bases..
The out call held as the BU cited incidental contact..
I personally saw it as obstruction since F3 cover both the white & orange bases.. I believe that I, as the PU, had a better view of what F3 was doing..
My question is: Could the base coach have requested my input (PU) on the call? I suspect that the BU could have said no, that it was his (BU) call. But if the BU wanted to honor the base coach's request, how would this request be properly conducted?
__________________
Chuck Lewis
Ronan, MT

Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Could the base coach have requested my input (PU) on the call?

**Sure. The coach may request anything. But you may not give her/him your input.

I suspect that the BU could have said no, that it was his (BU) call. But if the BU wanted to honor the base coach's request, how would this request be properly conducted?

**"Excuse me blue (BU). I believe F3 is guilty of obstruction. Would you please check with your partner."

"Of course, coach". "Partner, I have an out at 1B. The ball beat the BR, so there is no obstruction. Do you want to meet for coffee after the game?". "Coach, there's no obstruction since the ball beat your BR".

Bob

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
"nice try coach"
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Just Curious
This scenario happened in my game yesterday..
BR hits a dribbler to F5.. F5 throws to F3 for a close call at 1B... F3 is straddling the white bag with one of her feet on the orange bag too..
F3 has the ball before the BR gets there, but the BR collides with F3. BU calls the out, but base coach wants an obstruction call for being on both bases..
The out call held as the BU cited incidental contact..
I personally saw it as obstruction since F3 cover both the white & orange bases.. I believe that I, as the PU, had a better view of what F3 was doing..
My question is: Could the base coach have requested my input (PU) on the call? I suspect that the BU could have said no, that it was his (BU) call. But if the BU wanted to honor the base coach's request, how would this request be properly conducted?
The call is out, if there was a collision, obviously the runner wasn't impeded and F3 had possession of the ball.

Where is the obstruction?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 27, 2005, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 92
Just a thought from another recent post with a similar situation. If the runner had one foot on the 2nd base side of the white bag, and one foot on the orange bag (not touching the white bag), it's possible that the runner got in there safely. Assuming that the collision occured once the BR had touched first, s/he would be safe. Correct?
__________________
Troy
ASA/NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 29, 2005, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Possible ? Its true .
The BR must be tagged before touching the base or the fielder must have her foot on the fair portion with the ball in her hand or glove before the BR touches the safety base .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 30, 2005, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Broken record time...

Blocking the base is not obstruction.

Impeding the runner without the ball is obstruction.

Did you see the runner impeded before the ball arrived, or did you merely see the fielder with one foot on the orange base?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1