The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Another "interesting" interp from NZ. And wrong.

The rule is clear. The run doesn't score on ANY play where BR is retired before reaching first.

Consider several other similar scenarios.

Runner on 3rd, 2 out in all sitches.

1) Batter hits the ball right in front of the plate. F2 fields and tries to tag R1, fails, and fires to first to retire BR. No run. (Is this how you'd call it in NZ?)

2) R1 stealing, Batter foultips, which hits catchers glove, bounces up about 3 feet. Runner crosses plate prior to catcher catching it, but she DOES catch it. BR out. No run. (Is this how you'd call it in NZ?)

3) D3K, ball gets away, R1 crosses home (no attempt to retire her), F2 recovers in time to throw out BR at 1st. No run. (Assuming this one is REALLY easy, and even in NZ the run doesn't score.... but my question on this one is --- where in the rulebook do you justify scoring the run in the original sitch because of "an attempt to retire R1"?)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1