The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2005, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Because it was unintentional

Quote:
Originally posted by shipwreck
Why isn't R1 out(touching a fair batted ball) and negate the run? Dave
By rule it has to be intentional. In this play it was considered incidental contact. Of course, if in your judgement it was intentional, then the batter-runner would be out. You don't negate the run. This too is by rule. The run counts and then the runner closest to home is out. In this case that would be the batter-runner. Of course this is all based on intent. If you judged it to be incidental, then the ball is live, the run scores and the batter-runner is safe or out at 1st depending on the throw.

P.S. I posted the above before you edited your reply. To complete my answer, the reason is that the run had scored before the interference. In your example with the runner being off base and being hit by a ball, the runner had not scored nor was he put out before the interference occurred. In Rule 8-7-P it says "When, after being declared out or after scoring,....". So there's the difference.





[Edited by rwest on Apr 19th, 2005 at 10:56 AM]
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1