The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Rule 8-7-P says

When, after being declared out or after scoring, a runner INTENTIONALLY interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner.

I was calling a game up at my church and had the following happen. Now this was a minor league baseball game with young kids. I guess probably in the 4th/5th grades. I know its baseball and this is a softball forum, but I do mainly slow pitch softball and was wondering how this play would be called in softball.

R1 advancing from third on a base hit. He scores. The defense had thrown home to get him out, but overthrew the catcher. The ball went to the back stop. The catcher recovered the ball. R2 is also advancing home. Here's were the problem occurred. R1 is still standing on the plate, forcing the catcher to either go around R1 or through him. Would you consider this interference? I really don't believe it was intentional and by rule it has to be in order to call interference. The kids are still learning the game at this age. So what would you call?

I put R2 back on third base without an out and allowed R1's run to score.

__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1