Quote:
Originally posted by Alameda
...I just don't see where this situation is addressed in those references...
|
Great scenario Mike.
Alameda, Here is my understanding. Third out is made on the tag. But the 'fourth out' has further consequences so it is allowed. (The 'appeal' is that the defense is appealing the batter runner had not reach first yet.)
I have seen elsewhere that the scoring sections will discuss the
"defense choosing the more advantageous third out." In this example, the official scorer would ignore the third out made on the tag, and record for the third out the play that was more advantageous for the defense. (I do not know if the ASA rule book does or does not discuss how this should be scored.)