The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Last out of inning (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/19623-last-out-inning.html)

IRISHMAFIA Fri Apr 08, 2005 07:44pm

Runners on 2B & 3B, two out.

Ground ball to SS, BR doesn't run. R2 gets hung-up between 2B & 3B and keeps the defense occupied until R1 scores.

BR realizes that he better run in case R2 escapes safely from the run down.

F6 tags R2 and throws to 1B in time to get the BR.

Does the run score?


Alameda Fri Apr 08, 2005 07:51pm

Yes, the run scores.
--------------------------
Rule 5, Section 5

"B. No run shall score if the third out of the inning is the result of:

1. A batter-runner being called out prior to reaching first base...
2. A runner being put out by a tag or live ball appeal play prior to the lead runner touching home plate."

Since the tag was the 3rd out and the runner scored before the tag, the run stands and the inning is over.


Yes?

[Edited by Alameda on Apr 8th, 2005 at 09:34 PM]

mick Fri Apr 08, 2005 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Alameda
Yes, the run scores.
--------------------------
Rule 5, Section 5

"B. No run shall score if the third out of the inning is the result of:

1. A batter-runner being called out prior to reaching first base...
2. A runner being put out by a tag or live ball appeal play prior to the lead runner touching home plate."

Since the tag was the 3rd out and the runner scored before the tag, the run stands and the inning is over.


Yes?


Alameda,
I'm with you.
mick


tzme415 Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:12pm

Interesting problem...does third out by tag nullify the need of BR to reach 1st base? This isn't an appeal as 1st base wasn't missed, I am guessing by the post that BR did actually go all the way to 1st. I'd vote with the run counts, but how to sell to defensive coach.

azbigdawg Sat Apr 09, 2005 05:15am

No run.

rhsc Sat Apr 09, 2005 05:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by azbigdawg
No run.
Why not? You know the drill..every angle answered.

azbigdawg Sat Apr 09, 2005 07:51am

because I dont care if christ comes back..if the batter runner does not reach first base safely.... NOTHING ELSE MATTERS. NO RUN. Thats the easiest way to look at it.... avoid all the other window dressing..look at the basics....no runner safe at first...NOTHING else matters.

JEL Sat Apr 09, 2005 08:12am



Gee coach, Your F6 missed that tag! BR out, change 'em up!

FUBLUE Sat Apr 09, 2005 08:45am

I'm with the big dawg here!
 
No run...force out at first is the key.


tcannizzo Sat Apr 09, 2005 10:41am

Score the run. There was no force out at 1B since the third out of the inning had already occurred.

Alameda Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:27am

"No run shall score if the third out of the inning is the result of:"

It does NOT say "If the third out of the inning RESULTS in the batter-runnner not reaching 1st" It says clearly "If the third out is the batter-runner being put out prior to reaching 1st."

The 3rd out of the inning was very clear here. Does the tag out suddenly not count?

I stand by my call, the run score.


[Edited by Alameda on Apr 9th, 2005 at 12:30 PM]

debeau Sat Apr 09, 2005 02:40pm

Score the run .
Why penalise the offensive side when the defensive side and coach was just plain dumb for not taking the easy out.

A force out is an out which can be made only when a runner loses the right to the base which he is occupying because the batter becomes a batter runner .

No force run scores

azbigdawg Sat Apr 09, 2005 03:31pm

Im gonna have to back up and eat crow on this one. I didnt look at the entire situation. since the TAG was made for the THIRD out...any runs that scored ahead of the TAG would score.

Alameda Sat Apr 09, 2005 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tzme415
...but how to sell to defensive coach.
"I'm sorry coach, the runner scored before the tag out, which was clearly the 3rd out. The rules are very clear that if the 3rd out of an inning is on a tag play, all runs scoring prior to that tag will stand."

From what I understand, I wouldn't bother telling him "Next time maybe your SS should throw directly to 1st". He'll already know this, and we don't want show the coach up telling him or his players how to play the game.

That's not our job.

AtlUmpSteve Sat Apr 09, 2005 05:11pm

"The rules are very clear that if the 3rd out of an inning is on a tag play , all runs scoring prior to that tag will stand."

Please, let's not open that can of worms. A tag play can still be a force out that keeps a run from scoring. The explanation needs to be that the third out his defense took was a timing play , rather than a force out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1