The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 09, 2005, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
Doesn't anybody read the rule book? (Just kidding)

POE#1 APPEALS
M. Fourth Out Appeal. (2005, page 133) An appeal may be made after the third out as long as it is made properly.

The play described in the original post is a proper live ball appeal. (wait, keep reading, same page, but go up to letter...)

J. Force Out. If an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced to advance and the out is a force out, no runs would score if it was the third out.

So, my conclusion A.) putting these together, the live ball appeal at 1B is allowed as the "fourth", or new third out, and thus the force at 1B neagates the run.

Or is it conclusion B.) Does the third out made by F6 on the runner in the rundown eliminate the force on the BR, and thus, the appeal is no longer a force out, and the run does score?

I go with my "A" conclusion. Run does not score.

Good question and making us think, Mike.
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1