The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Gozer's pitching question (NFHS rules) (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/19601-gozers-pitching-question-nfhs-rules.html)

Dakota Thu Apr 07, 2005 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Gozer
NFHS Rules,
Pitcher is on rubber and brings ball and glove up to the heart (mid chest), i believe this is called adressing home plate. Anyway. She drops the hands and goes back to like a bowling swing then brings the hands back up to that "adressing home plate" position and back down and back then around in "windmill" and releases. Does this count as 2 or 3 times around (there is 3 passes of the hip). If so there is an illegal pitch in there then.

I underlined some things I'll talk about first, one trivial, others with more substance.

It's a plate, not a rubber.

There is nothing in the rules about "times past the hip" except (in NFHS) a comment that the ball does not have to be released the first time past the hip.

There is no requirement to address the plate or present the ball or any such thing. The requirement in the general category of pitcher preliminary mechanics is she must take the catcer's signs (or appear to take them) with the hands separated, and then bring the hands together for at least 1 sec and no more than 10 sec, and then begin the windup and pitch the ball.

Are the hand together when she goes back the first time or are they separated?

If separated, it is clearly an illegal pitch (double touch 6-1-4-b)

If together, probably also illegal under NFHS, but it would be a judgment on whether the motion is part of the windup or part of the preliminaries. (In ASA, it is legal if the hands have not separated because separating the hands is ASA's division point between the preliminaries and the pitch.) NFHS states that the pitch starts when the hands are separated or the pitcher makes any motion after bring the hands together that is part of the windup.

If the windup has started, then the motion violates NFHS 6-1-4-c, namely there is a reversal of the forward motion (other than the allowed backswing).

WMB may be along later to provide a better answer.

mcrowder Thu Apr 07, 2005 04:48pm

Only one thing I'm certain of...

Gozer the Traveler - He will come in one of the pre-chosen forms. During the rectification of the Vuldrini, the traveler came as a large and moving Torg! Then, during the third reconciliation of the last of the McKetrick supplicants, they chose a new form for him: that of a giant Slor! Many Shuvs and Zuuls knew what it was to be roasted in the depths of the Slor that day, I can tell you!

Dakota Thu Apr 07, 2005 04:58pm

Who ya gonna call?

Gozer Thu Apr 07, 2005 05:08pm

I am Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the distructior. Vulgla sal sildraw the travaler has come.

Anyway, she comes up to the hands together at the chest twice durning the course of the pitch. The intent is to throw off the batter. I'm just lost on weather it is illegal or not.

Take care,

Kenny

Dakota Thu Apr 07, 2005 05:39pm

Based on my visualization of your description, wherein the pitcher is bringing the hands together, hands begin their motion back behind, staying together, come back in front of the body, still together, and then separate for the backswing for the windmill, I may be inclined to IP this for NFHS. That is a lot of motion after bringing the hands together and may very well look to the batter (and more importantly, to the umpire) like she has started her delivery. Illegal reversal.

For ASA, this would be legal.

There are much more experienced high school umpires on this board than I, however (I just branched out from ASA to school ball last year).

WMB? Rachel? Glen?

Gozer Thu Apr 07, 2005 06:08pm

Ya she parts her hands after coming up the fist time and goes back and then brings them back and puts them back together. It threw me off dooin first base...


WestMichBlue Thu Apr 07, 2005 08:59pm

If the hands separate and come back together, it is illegal in both ASA (6.3.B) or NFHS (6.4.b).

If the hands do not retouch, it is still illegal due to the stop and reversal of the forward motion (ASA 6.3.C), (NFHS 6.4.c).

If the hands stayed together during the first back swing, you could make a case for IP in NFHS, but I think that I would have to see the complete pitching motion a couple times to make my call. As noted, legal in ASA.

Whatever, the young lady needs some coaching. Not only to eliminate the IP's, but to become a better pitcher. Too much motion at the begining of the pitch accomplishes little and tends to throw the pitcher out of sync. Too many pitchers do too much up front and then get the stride foot out too soon. When the arm is still at 11:00 or 12:00 when the stride foot lands they become arm throwers. Not good!

WMB

rhsc Sat Apr 09, 2005 04:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Only one thing I'm certain of...

Gozer the Traveler - He will come in one of the pre-chosen forms. During the rectification of the Vuldrini, the traveler came as a large and moving Torg! Then, during the third reconciliation of the last of the McKetrick supplicants, they chose a new form for him: that of a giant Slor! Many Shuvs and Zuuls knew what it was to be roasted in the depths of the Slor that day, I can tell you!

Have you got two usernames (gozer)? If not, your scaring me with these left field replies. Stay in the game man.


Gozer Sat Apr 09, 2005 04:49am

Nope that was someone else quoting "Ghostbusters"

Take care,

Kenny

rhsc Sat Apr 09, 2005 05:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by Gozer
Nope that was someone else quoting "Ghostbusters"

Take care,

Kenny

Not sure about mcrowder quoting g'busters acurately or you replying back to my quote to him..whats that about? Maybe I just dont follow these threads as close as others.
Anyway, I think if I called an IP around here (ASA slowpitch), Ild never get called to officiate another game.

Gozer Sat Apr 09, 2005 05:46am

Really slow pitch is a different game. If I forfited every team that had been drinking in my visual sight I wouldnt officiate either... Kinda falls under the ya its a rule but it dont get called unless it is agregious.

Take care,

Kenny

rhsc Sun Apr 10, 2005 02:57am

Quote:

unless it is agregious.
[/B]
Webster please.http://smilies.sofrayt.com/^/aiw/dont-know.gif

Gozer Sun Apr 10, 2005 07:57pm

Conspicuously bad or offensive. Flagrant.

Sorry cant spell, it is with an e insted of an a.

Kenny

mcrowder Mon Apr 11, 2005 09:21am

rhsc - I was quoting G-Busters because of the name of the original poster (from the other thread) and the title of this thread. Gozer. The name (I'm assuming) came from that quote from Ghostbusters. The speech was from Rick Moranis's character, and one I've memorized ever since.

If that is still not clear, PLEASE don't cross the streams - that would be bad.

Gozer Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:23am

LOL


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1