The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2005, 02:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
ISF Rule 7 Sec 2d Effect 2b states:

" ... Any out that is mnade prior to discovering this infraction, remains out."

Hence the out on B9 stays - He is the 3rd out of the innings.

Further, ISF Rule 8 Sec 9j Effect 4 states:

"Additional out appeals can be made after the third out as long as it is made properly and are made to remove a run."

There is no run being removed here, so it is not applicable to accepting the appeal.

In our game, it is not only the players but also the coaches who are getting smarter.

In this scenario, the defence coach realised batting out of order was the play. He too took a chance that B9 would not be out, prior to the appeal. Undoubtedly if B9 had hit the ball over the fence, the appeal would have disallowed the runs and B7 would have been declared out (as many of you were quick to point out) and the tie-breaker would have seen B8 in the box with B7 on 2nd base.

To take the "easy" way out and quote R10 Sec 1n would not help you when the protest was lodged.

I'm sure you will debate this until the cows come home but, we kiwis are having to get as smart as our World Series winning coaches.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1